The Chakra Series-The Heart Chakra

Getting to the “heart” of things….

Continuing on with our Chakra series, today we will be discussing the “Anahata” or Heart Chakra. This chakra is our 4thchakra, and is located at the center of our being…the heart. The heart chakra lingers between the two worlds of earthly matter, and the spiritual realm. “ Anahata” translates to “Unstruck” or “sound made without two things striking”. The heart chakra is all about unconditional love, for yourself, as well as others. All of humanity (and the animal world for that matter!) would benefit greatly if everyone took part in working with their heart chakra daily.


The Heart Chakra Basics….

Location-Center of chest (heart)

Name and meaning- Anahata/ unstruck

Color- Green/Pink

Main issue- Love & relationships

Glandular connection-Thymus

Associated body parts- Heart & chest, lungs, circulation

Element and ruling planet- Air/Venus

Astrological associations- Libra/Taurus

Associated sense-Touch

Fragrances, incense, & Oils- Rose, bergamot, Melissa

Crystals-Watermelon tourmaline, rose quartz, Emerald

Animals & archetypes-Gazelle/antelope, Lover/Performer

Physical dysfunctions- shallow breathing, high blood pressure, heart disease, cancer

Emotional dysfunctions-fears about betrayal, co-dependent, melancholic

Sacramental associations- marriage

Foods- Vegetables

Developmental age & Life Lesson-21-28 yrs. Forgiveness & Compassion


Are you compassionate? How does your heart chakra “spin?”

To understand the current state of your own heart chakra, we have to determine if it is “too open” (spins to fast) Deficient (blocked) or balanced (maintains the correct equilibrium).

Too Open– Possessive, Loves conditionally, withholds emotionally “to punish”, overly dramatic.

Blocked-fears rejection, loves too much, feels unworthy to receive love, self-pitying.

Balanced-Compassionate, loves unconditionally, nurturing, desires spiritual experience in love making.

After reading these descriptions, how do you think your heart chakra is currently spinning?


Let your heart grow and expand….

In her book “The book of Chakra Healing” Liz Simpsons describes perfectly what we are striving for by healing and working with our heart chakra. She states…

Click HERE to buy this book!

A note on the Archetypes of Anahata ….


As we all can see, the 4thchakra is a vital and very important chakra. I feel that in this day and age, too many people have an unhealthy relationship with the Anahata. This is a chakra that deserves daily work. I hope this post has inspired you to get in touch with your heart chakra. I highly recommend meditations that focus on this energy center on the daily. Some meditations I love from the Insight timer app, are….



The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra

Thank you for being here with us today. Our next chakra post will be focusing on the 5thchakra…The Throat!

Until next time,

The Heart Chakra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *