The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra

We are continuing our chakra series today by discussing the 3rdchakra, or solar plexus chakra. If you didn’t read our root chakra or sacral chakra posts, you can check them out here, and here.

In Sanskrit the solar plexus chakra is called the manipura, which translates to “lustrous gem”. This chakra is all about the power of being an individual, and celebration of our uniqueness, while simultaneously continuing on with our connection to all of humanity. The 3rdchakra also relates to self will.

The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra
Art by Leanne M. Williams

Sacral Chakra (3rdchakra) basics….

Sanskrit name and meaning- Manipura/lustrous gem

Location on the body- between navel & base of sternum

Associated color-Yellow

Main issue- personal power/self will

Glandular connection- pancreas

Associated body parts- digestive system/muscles

Element and ruling planet- fire/mars&sun

Astrological associations- Aries/Leo

Associated sense- sight

Fragrances/incense/oils- vetivert/ylang ylang/ bergamot

Crystals- aventurine/quartz/sunstone/yellow citrine

Animals and archtypes- ram/spiritual warrior/drudge

Physical dysfunctions- stomach ulcers/digestive problems/ chronic fatigue/allergies/ diabetes

Emotional dysfunctions-oversensitive to criticism/ need to be in control/ low self esteem

Sacramental association- confirmation

Foods- complex carbohydrates

Developmental age and life lesson- 14-21 years/self esteem/ self confidence

The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra

Working with the Solar Plexus chakra….

When working regularly with our solar plexus chakra, we strive to attain a balanced self-esteem, and achieve true personal power*. When we strengthen this chakra we will attain a level in which we can easily shake off the fears of rejection, and criticism. We can easily stand alone. We create our own unique identity, in which we accept who we are, and attain a high level of self respect. We become courageous; We have the ability to take risks. We accept the challenges we face with confidence because we know can handle them due to our keen knowledge of our own personal strength.

How does your solar plexus chakra spin?….

Being aware of how our chakras “spin” will determine what actions we need to take in working with our energy centers.

3rdchakra is “too open” or spins to fast- we become angry, controlling, workaholic, judgmental and act superior to others.

3rdchakra is “blocked” or spins sluggishly or not at all- we become overly concerned with what others think, fearful of being alone, insecure, or need constant reassurance.

3rdchakra is “balanced” or maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed- we respect self and others, we have personal power, we are spontaneous, and uninhibited.

Note* when we refer to “power” or “personal power” here, we are not referring to to the type that is aggressive or controlling. Instead this refers to the ability to acknowledge differences, but transcend challenges of polarity connected with the sacral chakra (2ndchakra) to achieve a new point of balance. Working on this chakra helps to bridge differences to accomplish wholeness. (Simpson)

As I stated in our root chakra post, if you would like to learn more about your chakras, and see examples, as well as exercises to strengthen all your chakras, check out the Book of Chakra Healing by Liz Simpson. It’s a good starting point in which to begin learning about this amazing system of health and wellbeing.

The Book Of Chakra Healing

The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra
from the blog

If you read our post on meditation (here) there is an app I use twice daily called “insight timer” On it there are some great chakra meditations. Here are a few of my favorites…

The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra
DavidJi has an amazing voice! The energy it exudes makes me smile. Defintly one of my favorite contributors on the app. He has books you can read as well.
The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra
I love this meditation! The breathing exercises really work for me. I can feel my body getting warm etc. Give it a try!
The Chakra Series-The Solar Plexus Chakra
Sarah’s meditations are great when I am short on time, but when I still want to get a meditation in.

As always, I hope this post sparked an interest in you to learn more about chakras. In our next post we will cover the heart chakra (4thchakra).

Thank you for joining us here! Until next time….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *